HAG inaugurates LOC, sub-c’ttees for IHF Challenge Trophy

The Handball Association of Ghana (HAG) on Friday inaugurated a Local Organising Committee (LOC) and seven sub-committees to over­see the organisation of the Africa Zone ‘3’ International Hockey Federation (IHF) Challenge Tro­phy tournament in Ghana.

This followed a successful bid by the HAG to host the all-female zonal championship slated for Accra on April 10-16.

The 10-member LOC is chaired by the President of HAG, Nii Lantey Bannerman, with represen­tatives from the Ministry of Youth and Sports (MoYS), National Sports Authority (NSA), Ghana Olympic Committee (GOC), Ghana Education Service (GES) and Security Services Sports As­sociation (SESSA) representative, WG.CDR. FO Darko.

Other members of the LOC includes Mr Charles Amofa, Secre­tary General of HAG, Mr. Kwame Baah Nuako, Mr. Kamal Deen Abdulai and Salifu Abdallah.

Mr George Bankole, Technical Director of HAG chairs the Tech­nical/Venue Sub-committee that also has Henry Nortey, Charles W. Mensah, Joseph Addokwei Quaye, Angelina Shang, Mary Yahaya from the University of Ghana (UG) Sports and Edward Akpor from the Ghana National Fire Service (GNFS), as members.

The Logistics/Accommo­dation/Feeding/Transport sub-committee has Mr Philip Longdon, as Chairman and Chris­tian Yaw Osei, Gertrude Annorh, Kwadwo Appietu-Ankrah, K.D. Ninsau and Dennis Abeiku Ana­moah as members.

The Media and Publicity sub-committee will be chaired by Kingsley Ohene Amoako and supported by Kwame Odiasempa, Nana Abrokwa Asare, Charles Takyi-Boadu, Andy Kamkam, Andrew Nortey and Ebenezer Nii Abbey Mensah.

Mr Andy Kamkam will double as Chairman of the Sponsor­ship sub-committee that also has Amma Frimpomaa Dwumah, Sika Antobreh, and Dr. Munkaila Seibu Isaac D. Boamah as members.

Mr Charles Amofa will also take additional responsibility as head of the Secretariat/Admin­istration sub-committee and will work with Sharon Odoi, Joan Oduro-Nyarko, Joseph Quaidoo, Emmanuel Ansong, Oliver Free­man and Anabella Amankwaa Agyei.

Ms Angelina Shang will be the Chairperson for the Gender/ Chaperone sub-committee and will be supported by Patricia Asantewaa Osei, Phillipine Dede Ossom, Latifa Larley, Vincentia Torsutse and Hajara Mahama.

The Security sub-committee is chaired by Joseph A. Quaye with Victoria Annan (GNFS), WG.CDR. FO Darko from the Ghana Armed Forces (GAF) and Thomas Kumordzi of the National Sports Authority (NSA) as members.

Mr Erica Mensah Bonsu, Director of Finance/Administra­tion at the Ministry of Youth and Sports (MoYS) who stood in for the sector minister commended HAG for putting in a successful bid and lauded the members for embracing the challenge to organ­ise a very successful event.

MoYS, he said uses sports as an avenue for employment and sees the upcoming event as one of such games that will keep the young players busy and expose them the handball scouts world­wide.

He said, with the Africa Games lurking, the event can be used as a big platform to select a formida­ble team among the 25 disciplines approves for the Games later in the year.

Mr Mensah Bonsu charged Team Ghana to always be reminded of the ‘host and win’ mantra as Ghana aim a return to the top echelons of the sport at the continental level.

Swearing-in the members, he urged them to see it as a privilege to contribute to Ghana’s sports development agenda.

Seven countries including host Ghana, Niger, Liberia, Burkina Faso, Nigeria, Togo and Benin are expected to take part in the six-day event.


Show More
Back to top button