Tricky Women’s World Cup draw for Africa

The African group of South Africa, Nigeria, Morocco and Zambia learned their 2023 FIFA World Cup fate on Saturday when the draw for the finals was conducted in Auckland/Tamaki Makaura.

The pair of Cameroon and Senegal will have to go through a round robin inter-continental playoff where their top finishers progress to the World Cup.

The tournament will take place from July 20 to August 20 with the opening game being a clash between co-hosts New Zealand and 1995 world champions Norway at Eden Park, while co-hosts Australia, will kick off against debutants Republic of Ireland.

African champions Banyana Banyana was drawn in Group G with Italy, Argentina, and Sweden. Banyana will look to improve on their dismal showing in their debut World Cup in 2019 where they finished bottom of Group B with zero points and a single goal against heavyweights Germany, Spain, and China.

Desiree Ellis’ charges will open their tournament next year against Sweden; face the Le Azzurre in the last Group G match on August 2 and Argentina’s La Albicelestein the final group game.

Zambia are in Group C alongside Spain, Costa Rica, and former champions Japan.

Nigeria, who have qualified to nine consecutive World Cups, find themselves in Group B alongside tournament co-hosts Australia, debutants Republic of Ireland, and the Tokyo 2020 Olympics gold medallists Canada.

The 2022 African Women’s Cup of Nations hosts and runners up Morocco are in Group H with heavyweights Germany, Colombia, and Korea Republic.

The final two spots at the World Cup will be decided in the inter-confederation playoffs in February next year. The African pair of Cameroon and Senegal will fancy their chances from Group A and B respectively.


Group A: New Zealand, Norway, Philippines, Switzerland

Group B: Australia, Republic of Ireland, Nigeria, Canada

Group C: Spain, Costa Rica, Zambia, Japan

Group D: England, Group B play-off winner, Denmark, China PR

Group E: USA, Vietnam, Netherlands, Group A play-off winner

Group F: France, Jamaica, Brazil, Group C play-off winner

Group G: Sweden, South Africa, Italy, Argentina

Group H: Germany, Morocco, Colombia, Korea Republic

Show More
Back to top button