Another police officer resigns to contest NDC parliamentary primary

Detective Corporal John Evans Ayerakwa-Kumordzi, 35, a Police officer attached to the Akropong District Command in the Eastern Region, has resigned from the Ghana Police Service and picked nomination form to contest the upcoming parliamentary primary of the National Democratic Congress (NDC).

He has tendered in his resignation letter to the Inspector General of Police (IGP), David Asante-Apeatu, in accordance with the Police Service Act in February this year, which was accepted giving him the impetus to pursue his political ambition of serving his constituents in Okere Constituency in the Eastern Region.

“I have been in the Police Service for eleven years, I joined the Police service in 2008 but I resigned in February this year, after the Police Academy, I was posted into my constituency which I have worked for 11 years.

“I have been with my constituents for the past 11 years because I was a detective, I have been with my constituents for a very long time and I know their challenges, I think this is the right time for me to lead the constituency to help them have a better living condition.

The former Police officer was part of three other parliamentary hopefuls who have picked the nomination forms with the intention to contest the primary in the constituency.

Detective Corporal Ayerakwa-Kumordzi, a former Criminal Investigation Department (CID) operative, is hopeful of winning the primary and subsequently recapture the Okere constituency seat which was a stronghold of the NDC in 1992 until 2001 when the New Patriotic Party (NPP) won and occupies till date, with the incumbent Member of Parliament (MP) Dan Kwaku Botwe.

He has also vowed to ensure that he garners enough votes for the NDC flag bearer John Mahama in 2020 to win the presidential election, the development comes few days after the Executive Secretary to the IGP, Superintendent Peter Lanchene Tuubo retired voluntarily from the service to contest the Wa West parliamentary primaries of the NDC. –

Show More
Back to top button